Corporate Overview | Directorate

Board of Directors

Non-executive directors

David Nurek - Independent non-executive chairman

Age: 71

Dip Law, Grad Dip Company Law
Appointed 1996

Member of the remuneration and nominations committee

Member of the social and ethics committee

Directorships: Non-executive chairman of Trencor

Expertise and experience: Legal, commercial and governance. David practised as an attorney with Sonnenberg Hoffman Galombik for 32 years, including 23 years as a partner and director. He joined Investec Group in 2000 and was regional chairman of the group’s Western Cape businesses and global head of legal risk for the Investec Group. David retired from the Investec Group on 31 August 2019. He has served as non-executive director and chairperson on boards of listed companies for many years, including as chairperson of The Foschini Group and Lewis Group, and non-executive director of Aspen Pharmacare and Pick n Pay Stores.

Prof. Fatima Abrahams - Independent non-executive director

Age: 58 

B Econ (Hons) (Cum Laude), M Com, D Com
Appointed 2008

Chairperson of the remuneration and nominations committee

Chairperson of the social and ethics committee

Directorships: Lewis Group and The Foschini Group. Chairperson of TSiBA Education.

Expertise and experience: Human resources and remuneration. Prof. Abrahams is an academic, experienced company director and a registered industrial psychologist. She is currently a senior professor (part time) at the University of the Western Cape, having also served as dean of the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences.

John Bester - Independent non-executive director

Age: 74 

B Com (Hons), CA (SA), CMS (Oxon)
Appointed 2008

Member of the remuneration and nominations committee

Directorships: Non-executive director of HomeChoice South Africa, Intembeko Investment Administrators, Personal Trust and Tower Property Fund. Trustee of the Children’s Hospital Trust and the Children’s Hospital Foundation Trust.

Expertise and experience: Accounting and finance. John spent 16 years in the accounting profession, including serving as a partner of Ernst & Young for 10 years. He has been involved in commerce and industry for a further 39 years.

Dr Penny Moumakwa - Independent non-executive director

Age: 56

MB ChB, MAP (Wits), GMP (Harvard)
Appointed April 2021

Member of the social and ethics committee

Directorships: Growthpoint Healthcare Property Holdings, RCL Foods, Wits University Donald Gordon Medical Centre and the Witkoppen Health and Welfare Centre.

Expertise and experience: Medical and healthcare. Penny is a medical doctor with extensive senior executive experience in the private and public healthcare sectors. She was previously an executive director of Discovery Health and an executive committee member of Discovery Holdings. She is the founding CEO of Mohau Equity Partners which focuses on impact investing to scale and develop SME companies into future industry leaders.

Mfundiso Njeke - Lead independent non-executive director

Age: 62

B Com, B Compt (Hons), CA (SA), H Dip Tax
Appointed March 2020

Chairman of the audit and risk committee

Directorships: Chairman of Momentum Metropolitan Holdings and non-executive director of Datatec, Delta Property Fund and Motus Holdings

Expertise and experience: Accounting and finance. Mfundiso “JJ” Njeke is a chartered accountant by profession. After serving as an audit partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers for six years he co-founded Kagiso Trust Investments where he was group managing director from 1994 to 2010. JJ is currently the chairperson of investment company Dlondlobala Capital, which he co-founded in 2012. He is a past chairman of the SA Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Mr Sango Ntsaluba

Sango Ntsaluba - Independent non-executive director

Age: 61

BCom, BCompt (Hons), H Dip Tax Law, MCom Development Finance, CA (SA)
Appointed September 2021

Member of the audit and risk committee

Member of the remuneration and nominations committee

Directorships: Non-executive chairman of Thungela Resources and a non-executive director of Kumba Iron Ore, Goldplat plc and Ascendis Health.

Expertise and experience: Auditing and finance. Sango was a founding partner of SizweNtsalubaGobodo (now SNG Grant Thornton), one of the largest auditing firms in South Africa. He served as general manager of group finance and later as the executive director responsible for restructuring at Transnet. He was the executive chairman of NMT Capital from 2002 until 2020 and is the founding CEO of investment holding company Aurelian Capital.

Martin Rosen

Martin Rosen - Independent non-executive director

Age: 70

Appointed 2006

Member of the remuneration and nominations committee

Expertise and experience: Retail and marketing. Martin is an accomplished retailer and marketer, having spent 33 years with Pick n Pay before starting his own marketing consultancy in 2004.

Executive directors

Bertina Engelbrecht  - Chief executive officer

Age: 58

B Proc, LL M, admitted attorney
Appointed as a director in March 2008

Member of the social and ethics committee

Expertise and experience: Human resources. Previously group corporate affairs director, Bertina was appointed chief executive officer in January 2022. She joined the group in 2006 as group human resources director and was appointed as an executive director in 2008. She was previously general manager for Shell SA Energy and regional human resources manager for Shell Oil Products Africa. Prior to this she was director of organisational effectiveness at Sea Harvest, managed her own consultancy practice and spent eight years with Transnet.

Michael Fleming - Chief financial officer

Age: 54

B Com, CTA, CA (SA)
Appointed as a director in March 2011

Expertise and experience: Accounting, finance and investor relations management. Michael was previously chief financial officer of Tiger Brands Limited. He joined the Tiger Brands group in 2000, was appointed as financial executive of the Tiger Brands consumer brands division in 2005 and promoted to chief financial officer in June 2008. While CFO of Tiger Brands, he also served as a non-executive director of Oceana Group Limited.

Board Composition